County Public Schools Student Services Department


The Expansion of MTL

Since its inception, the MTL model has been embraced by Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) and the community.  Many other schools across the District have replicated the program.  In 2014, BCPS received a $200,000 grant for the Minority Male Mentoring Initiative (MMMI) from the Florida Department of Education. The grant provided Deerfield Beach and Nova High Schools the opportunity to expand their MTL Programs. The grant also supported a partnership between BCPS and Broward College that allowed program participants the opportunity to interact with college students who served as mentors and role models, thus helping students make a successful transition from high school to college and/or the workforce.

With the sunset of the grant from USDOE’s High School Graduation Initiative, BCPS has decided to fund the MTL program, which now has 23 schools including two elementary schools.

MTL Schools (2016-2017)

Blanche Ely High School Attucks Middle School
Boyd Anderson High School Crystal Lake Middle School
Coconut Creek High School Deerfield Beach Middle School
Deerfield Beach High School Forest Glen Middle
Douglas, Stoneman High School Margate Middle School
Hallandale High School Nova Middle School
Miramar High School Plantation Middle School
Northeast High School Seminole Middle School
Nova High School Collins Elementary School
Plantation High School Park Lakes Elementary School
South Broward High School
Stranahan High School
Taravella, J.P. High School

Mentoring Tomorrow’s Leaders – Main Page

History of MTL

Copyright © 2016 Department of Student Services. All Rights Reserved.